AISC 2017 – Bologna

December 14-16, 2017

14th Annual Conference of the Italian Association for Cognitive Sciences (AISC)

The Science of Cognition

Brain, Body, Language, and Technologies


The AISC Conference 2017 (Bologna, December 14-16) is aimed to highlight how cognition is not strictly constrained within brain boundaries, but rather influenced by bodily processes, like perception and action, language production and comprehension. Cognitive science is the scientific field interested in studying cognition from this perspective as well as many others. Cognitive science is also central to robotics and artificial intelligence, as well as to neuroscience, and its identity is continuously being redefined to face new challenges. Given this wide range of interests, the science of cognition has always been a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary field, and now it is increasingly the case. This raises several issues and challenges, from a theoretical, epistemological, practical and applied point of view.


Topics of interests include, but are not limited to:

  • embodied and grounded cognition
  • 4E cognition
  • cognitive psychology
  • social cognition
  • cognitive robotics
  • cognitive architecture
  • cognitive modeling
  • artificial intelligence and cognition
  • cognitive neurosciences
  • language and cognition
  • language representation and comprehension
  • cognition and simulation
  • cognitive linguistics
  • philosophy of cognitive science
  • philosophy of neuroscience
  • history of cognitive science
  • philosophy of mind and cognition
  • cognitive ontology
  • epistemology and cognitive science

Confirmed invited speakers

Lawrence Barsalou (University of Glasgow)

Edoardo Datteri (University of Milano-Bicocca)

Barbara Mazzolai (Italian Institute of Technology – IIT, Pisa)

Hugo Mercier (CNRS – Institut des Sciences Cognitives Marc Jeannerod)

Walter Quattrociocchi (Ca’ Foscari University of Venice)

Yulia Sandamirskaya (University of Zurich and ETH Zurich)

Carlo Umiltà (University of Padua)


We invite submissions for paper presentations and symposia.


Papers: Paper presentations will be allowed 30 minutes including discussion. Abstracts may be written in English or Italian, and they should not exceed 500 words including references. Authors should submit through EasyChair at the following link:

The Conference Committee reserves the right to offer poster presentations instead of full paper presentations for some of the abstracts, in light of the reviews’ results.

We are planning to publish a selection of the papers accepted and presented in an edited volume or in a special issue of a journal.


Symposia: Symposium proposals should be submitted via Easychair and should be no longer than 1500 words (including references). Every proposal should include: title, names, affiliations and contact details of the organizers and speakers, and a short explanation of the symposium aim.



Important dates


Submission deadline (EXTENDED): September 17, 2017

Accept/reject date notification: October 15, 2017

Conference dates: December 14-16, 2017

For information please write to



Conference registration information:

Conference dinner is scheduled on Friday 15th December 2017. For details, please contact Francesco Ellia ( Reservation is recommended.

Scientific Committee


Francesco Bianchini (University of Bologna) Chair of the scientific committee

Elisabetta Lalumera (University of Milano-Bicocca) Co-Chair of the scientific committee

Gabriella Airenti (University of Turin)

Cristina Amoretti (University of Genoa)

Anna Borghi (Sapienza University of Rome; ISTC-CNR, Rome)

Marianna Bolognesi (University of Amsterdam)

Claudia Casadio (University of Chieti-Pescara)

Raffaella Campaner (University of Bologna)

Gustavo Cevolani (IMT School for Advanced Studies Lucca)

Matteo Cerri (University of Bologna)

Marco Cruciani (University of Trento)

Vincenzo Crupi (University of Turin)

Luisa Damiano (University of Messina)

Filippo Domaneschi (University of Genoa)

Marcello Frixione (University of Genoa)

Francesco Gagliardi (Italian Association of Cognitive Sciences, Rome)

Mattia Gallotti (School of Advanced Study, University of London)

Paolo Leonardi (University of Bologna)

Antonio Lieto (University of Turin)

Luisa Lugli (University of Bologna)

Sebastiano Moruzzi (University of Bologna)

Roberto Nicoletti (University of Bologna)

Fabio Paglieri (ISTC-CNR, Rome)

Claudio Paolucci (University of Bologna)

Pietro Perconti (University of Messina)

Marco Elio Tabacchi (University of Palermo)

Guglielmo Tamburrini (University of Naples Federico II)



Organizing Committee

Claudia Mazzuca (chair of the organizing committee)

Marta Caravà

Francesco Ellia

Alessandro Kassapidis

Federico Roccanova

Federica Rossi

Caterina Villani